Thursday, 12 May 2016

County Mayor Honours Volunteers and Leaders at Annual Community Awards 2016

Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. John Paul O'Shea held the fourth Cork County Mayor's Community Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 11th 2016. The Cork County Mayor's Community Awards is an annual public recognition of the amazing work that is undertaken by people throughout County Cork.
Speaking at the event, Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr John Paul O'Shea commented 'A fantastic 48 community groups and individuals were nominated, chosen for the superb contributions and improvements made to communities across Cork County.  That is a magnificent indictment of the culture that we have in our County and one which I am delighted to be in a position to recognise, and celebrate, at the Mayors Awards'. 
11 Awards were made on the night over a record number of 48 nominations.  An incredible variety of community groups and individuals from across Cork County attended the evening's celebration.  It was a wonderful occasion for Mayor O'Shea to formally recognise the incredible efforts and accomplishments made through the voluntary undertakings of so many Cork people.

Mayor John Paul O'Shea awarded the following nominees within each Division:

North Group Mallow Search & Rescue (MSAR)
North Group St. Joseph's Foundation
North Individual Mr. Seán Finn

South Group Cumann na Daoine
South Group Carrigtwohill Community Council
South Individual Ms. Celeste Foley

West Group KYSS (Kinsale Youth Support Services)
West Group BEDA (Ballineen & Enniskeane Development Association)
West Individual Mr. Micheál Hurley

The Overall Individual Award was given to Ms. Celeste Foley.  Celeste is President of the local ICA, Secretary of the Active Retired Group and active member of Whitechurch/Waterloo Community Association.  Celeste is always helping, both young and old.  When a local woman, Comfort, required expensive medical treatment, Celeste was the main organiser behind a text request to raise funds for 'Comforts Cause'.

The Overall Community and Voluntary Group Award was given to Ballineen and Enniskeane Development Association (BEDA).  BEDA was founded 55 years ago and developed the old railway complex into the Community Centre that is currently in existence.  The facilities include a playground, multi use games area, and 18 hole pitch and putt course.  BEDA continues to upgrade these facilities and has seen visitor numbers increase on foot of several successful events.

A special mention was also made to Milo McCarthy from Midleton.  12 year old Milo raised over €17,000 for the Irish Red Cross Migrant Appeal, through his tireless busking efforts. 

The Mayor went on to say 'I would like to see even more nominations for the Mayors Awards next year.  I would like to see the ethos of volunteerism go forward and spread, to benefit each other and for the benefits to ourselves.  Any litter that is picked, any time donated, any thought shared, all making our communities stronger and creating great places to live happily.  And where someone takes that first step, another will follow.  That is where we will find strength in our communities.'

Mayors Awards 2016

Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. John Paul O'Shea presents the Overall Individual award to Celeste Foley, Blarney.  Also included is Tim Lucey, Chief Executive Cork County Council.  Picture: Martin Walsh.

Mayors Awards 2016

Mayor of the County of Cork, Cllr. John Paul O'Shea presents the best Community and Voluntary Group award to Pat Joe O'Sullivan from the Ballineen & Enniskeane Development Association.  Also included (left to right): Therese Barrett-Burke, Public Participation Network, Tim Lucey, Chief Executive Cork County Council, Jim Lawton (BEDA) and Patricia McCarthy (BEDA).  Picture: Martin Walsh.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured post

Sean Murphy is overall Individual winner of The Mayor of the County of Cork Community Awards

Congratulations to Sean Murphy from Killeagh The overall Individual winner of  The Mayor of the County of Cork  Community Awards  ...