Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Best New Entry Award for Cuskinny Project at twelfth Annual Pride in Our Community Competition

Members of Cobh Tidy Towns  Winners of the Best New Entry from Paul Hartnett Cork County Council at the Muintir na Tire Pride in Our Community  Awards
Included are: Cllr. Clare Cullinane, Ken Curtin, Jim O’Rourke,  Hendrick Verway, County Mayor Seamus Mc Grath and Annette Lane Muintir na Tire
Cobh Tidy Towns won Best New Entry Award at the 12th Annual Muintir na Tire Pride in our Community Awards held in Oriel House Ballincollig.
Their project involved highlighting the wildlife in Cuskinny Marsh and Nature Reserve in association with Birdwatch Ireland. Three new upgraded wildlife signs were erected at The Bay, The Marsh and The Woodland to encourage people to visit this beautiful area and appreciate the diversity of wildlife in the area.
Mayor of County Cork Councillor Seamus McGrath congratulated them and said that it was great to see the effort being put in by them and other community groups in developing locally-based Amenity/ Projects which are of long-term benefit to their local community all over County Cork’

Mr Sean Holland Chairman of the organising committee was keen to point out that competition also seeks to make local people conscious of their local environment and promotes litter free communities. He said the competition is open to all voluntary groups in County Cork. Sean added that the organisers had simplified the competition after consulting with local groups. He urged any group that were planning a project or were maintaining an existing project to consider entering the competition

No comments:

Post a Comment

Featured post

Sean Murphy is overall Individual winner of The Mayor of the County of Cork Community Awards

Congratulations to Sean Murphy from Killeagh The overall Individual winner of  The Mayor of the County of Cork  Community Awards  ...